Extension of the exchange - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Sjoerd Groneschild - WaarBenJij.nu Extension of the exchange - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Sjoerd Groneschild - WaarBenJij.nu

Extension of the exchange

Door: me

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sjoerd

20 November 2016 | Japan, Kyoto

As most of you may already have heard, I'll be extending my exchange to two semesters. In other words, I'll be staying in Japan until the end of august/beginning of september. The most important reason is to have the time to build for a future to make a living in Japan.

Which also means I've been spending quite a bit of time on studying Japanese and making and sharing a lot of artworks, while being careful on how quickly to spend money on sightseeing, saving it for times when I go with friends from my class. Next week I'm going to visit some temples and various other places in Kyoto, which is also when the the leaves of autumn turn red, attracting a lot of tourists because the beautiful sight.

Yesterday was quite a lot of fun, as former students/badminton club members came to badminton at the gymnasium from 10.00 to 17.00. Afterwards, everyone went to a nearby Chinese restaurant, which was particularly nice because I found a chance to talk for quite a while to the Japanese former students.

Since it's been a while posting a message on my blog, I'm trying to remember the last few weeks. Tuesday I presented my first large project for a more experimental class. For a change, I went all out on a three dimensional piece, using only leaves, bamboo, branches and other things pickes up in nature and shampoo plus toothpaste for color highlights and a more interesting smell. Since it is quite large and detailed, it took about nine/ten days, working each day from morning until about 2.00 at night.
Other than that, there was a workshop a few days back in the classroom where a few people from a shop in Kyoto came to the campus to learn us to create a small box - made by a special technique - which we will use later in a assignment. Earlier I went with a few classmates to the mentioned shop to take a look around, as the teacher adviced us to do so as well. Inside the shop where a lot of different types of boxes, designs from all around the world and also paper from all around the world, containing very intersting designs.

It was one of those times again seeing a technique for the first time, absolutely loving it and recording it in my mind straight away. It happens a lot. For example, only in etching class already we get around five/six different techniques taught in one semester, which is not nearly everything. No idea how all of this information is going to be used, but I'm picking so many things up here and really get challenged by this environment to try out weird/interesting techniques and ideas out myself, making it more fun then ever before. Plus, people seem to like what I'm making here, which is such a satisfying feeling and gives a lot of confidence. My website and business card are already in English and Japanese ( www.sjoerdgroneschild.com ) and I'm making sure to post some sort of artwork on social media each day.
Next week I'm going to have a conversation with the head of Illustration of Kyoto Seika University about building a future in Japan, while trying to find a chance getting a bit of advice on getting a part time job here. Also, I'll be having lunch with two former Dutch HKU students who work in Osaka now, to get information about the same topic.

That's pretty much everything for now. At the moment, I'm in the campus again on sunday, because my colored pencils were still in the classroom and I wanted to draw on my wallet. (yeah, that's probably not one of the most common reasons to go to school on a sunday...).
Later, I'm going to study again, as the official Japanese test I'll (level 3 out of 5) be taking is in the beginning of december and it would be nice to add on my curriculum.

Good luck to everyone back in Holland (or wherever you are) and check out the pictures I added if you're interested! :)

  • 22 November 2016 - 17:19

    Maria Ylä-Jussila:

    Sjoerd, je bent heel druk bezig! Ren jezelf niet voorbij. Ja die rode bladeren in Kioto heb ik ooit op foto's gezien. Heel mooi! Geniet er van!

  • 08 December 2016 - 20:29

    Jos:

    Goed verslag Sjoerd en mooie plaatjes. Zou zelf wel een stukje en meer willen schilderen daar. Hebben ze daar eigenlijk ook kerst net zoals hier of zijn er daar weer andere feestdagen. Hier is het nu echt super Hollands weer. Zo van echt niks waaien en regenen en niet echt koud. De blaadjes zijn er wel af behalve van mijn schetsblok. Mooi dat je zoveel connecties hebt in zo'n korte tijd. Nou het ga je goed en veel plezier daar.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sjoerd

25 years of age, on an exchange programm to Japan for 4,5 months from late september 2016 until early february 2017.

Actief sinds 03 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 291
Totaal aantal bezoekers 82866

Voorgaande reizen:

24 September 2016 - 08 Februari 2017

Exchange Japan

Landen bezocht: