Switching dorms - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Sjoerd Groneschild - WaarBenJij.nu Switching dorms - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Sjoerd Groneschild - WaarBenJij.nu

Switching dorms

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sjoerd

09 April 2017 | Japan, Kyoto

Hey everyone!

Got to keep it a bit short and quick this time, as I'll be leaving in an hour again to go around the galleries in Kyoto.
First of all - as the title says - I moved to another dorm, as the old one was getting really old and will be destroyed soon. New place is awesome, really a lot of fun. Everyone has a room with another student: always one Japanese person, one foreigner. So I'm sharing a room with a Japanese guy as well. Also, there is a shared space (with massive kitchen) which is basically used to hang out with dormmates or work on your own on something. As I'm one of the few people that has a good grasp of both English and Japanese and I will be teaching English at the dorm as well soon, I'm making sure to always be there to talk to and leave school in the evening a bit earlier than I did before.

Seems there's a bit of weekly routine established, although spring holiday will be finished tomorrow as a new school year will start (Japan starts school in april and finishes in february).
Monday is Japanese painting class which I'm really looking forward to and a bit of an easy day as there is time to work on school and exhibition work. Speaking of which, it has been confirmated! I will be exhibition with my friend Koichiro Kashima in Kyoto from june 12th ~ 18th. As there is still quite a bit of work to be created, it's gonna be race against the clock and a fun challenge that I've doing for a while now already.
By the way, interesting part of the monday class as well is that it will be with the 1st year students, as that's the only year in the Illustration course where Japanese painting class is given. Suddenly I will become the experienced one, even as a foreigner, which is kind of an interesting situation.
Tuesday is a regular class with 3rd year students (one of the main subjects where the range of work that can be created is a bit wide, so I can't really explain too much about it), but I will have to leave a bit early because there is part time job at a cramming school from 17.00 to 19.30, teaching English.
Wednesday is a similar sort of class, but one of my favorite days of the week as it ends with ballroom dancing class in a studio a bit more downtown in Kyoto. Perhaps a bit of a surprise to some people. It suddenly occured to me after watching a nice movie that it might be possible to practice in Kyoto and as I've always been somewhat interested, I decided to give it a go.
Thursday is no school, but parttime job at a hotel, cleaning rooms from 9.30 to 15.30 and as it's about an hour by bike, I'm getting up early and arrive at school afterwards quite late. Plus, there is badminton club at the campus from 18.00 to 20.00, so not much time left for other things.
Friday will be photography class, which I mainly got interested in because the teacher is both in his teaching- and creating skills exceptionally good. Also, before that, from 12.00 ~ 13.00 I'm teaching English conversation class to a few student at same university I'm studying at. For English teaching class at the dorm, that will probably also on a weekday in the evening, although the exact date and time hasn't be decided yet.
Saturday morning is parttime job at cramming school again and the rest of the time left over for artwork until evening.
Sunday ends with the usual gallery tour on my bike, going around Kyoto visiting familiar and new faces and seeing a lot of cool stuff.
Which is pretty much it. Still studying Japanese a few hours a day (big test, JLPT level2 (second highest out of five)) will be in june and I'm going to have to work hard on reading and writing Japanese charcters. Rest of the time goes up quite easily to making art and every now and then going somewhere with friends - for example bowling and eating ramen on my birthday, midway march.

Okay, good luck to everyone again! Next post on my blog is probably going to be late because of the preparation for the exhibition, but I'm going to leave some time again. :)

  • 09 April 2017 - 11:15

    Jos:

    Heb je nog tijd om te slapen of haal je dat straks in Nederland in?

  • 09 April 2017 - 11:20

    Veronie:

    Lekker bezig hoor ! Succes met alles, en geniet ervan !! XXX

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sjoerd

25 years of age, on an exchange programm to Japan for 4,5 months from late september 2016 until early february 2017.

Actief sinds 03 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 416
Totaal aantal bezoekers 82857

Voorgaande reizen:

24 September 2016 - 08 Februari 2017

Exchange Japan

Landen bezocht: