First two weeks at school - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Sjoerd Groneschild - WaarBenJij.nu First two weeks at school - Reisverslag uit Kyoto, Japan van Sjoerd Groneschild - WaarBenJij.nu

First two weeks at school

Door: me

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sjoerd

15 Oktober 2016 | Japan, Kyoto

Hey everyone, it's been great here! :)

Finished the first two weeks of school, but I'm writing this article in the classroom on saturday right now and will be here until about 8 o' clock probably. Not that it's that busy really, I just really enjoy being here.

Classes are a lot of fun, I've never expected to be looking forward going to school each day this much. Tuesday, wednesday and thursday are main classes of the third year's Illustration course. On tuesday the class is preparing for an exhibition in january, which I will participate in as well. We will pick a main theme and have about seven students volunteered to arrange all sorts of preparations. Wednesday is a more experimental class where we will do a project to make a work that shows that represents 言葉 (meaning: language/phrase/manner of speaking). Thursday is a class in which we will create a story, illustrate it and eventually put in into a book.
Classes just started, so I'm not sure yet what it's going to turn into, but it's clear that I'm getting a bit more time than what I was used in the Netherlands and students here create really awesome things. :D

Aside from those three main courses, monday starts with Japanese class at 9.00 for one hour. I'm preparing to get an official certificate for Japanese level 3 (out of 5), which means I'm still studying for about 3 hours a day. It's gotten a whole lot more fun as well because I'm actually speaking Japanese each day with people for most of the time.
After that is silk screen class with 2nd year students. Since I've been painting and drawing on my own clothes directly a lot lately, learning the common technique and its advantages is very interesting.
Friday is different as well, with etching class, from 13.00 to 17.00 with 2nd year students, which is another class from the one of monday. Students and teachers are all very nice and happy to explain anything that's unclear, so I'm actually enjoying it as a great chance to meet more people.

Ah, another really cool thing! There is a badminton club in the campus, free of charge for students, training on tuesday, wednesday and thursday from 18.00 to 20.00, which I joined as well this week. A group of about 15 people - in which I'm one of the less skilled players - trains in a large hall, devided by a net in halve. On the other halve there is basketball, volleyball and probably other sports going on at different times. After badminton I go to the convenience store or restaurant (also part of the campus, very close to the gymnasium actually) to buy dinner and eat it there for a cheap price.

Besides that there are deers as well. Earlier I saw about ten of them walking right in front of the dorm and a few at the edge of the campus, which is right next to the forest and mountains. For now I'm aiming to pet a cat that's walking around from my way from the dorm to school (about fifteen minutes on foot, which I do each day).

Ah, pictures will come later today. I don't have the cable with me right now connecting my phone to my labtop, so I apologize for that. They will come in about four hours! :)

  • 15 Oktober 2016 - 13:47

    Veronie :

    Hee Sjoerd, druk programma zo te horen, leuk dat je ook gaat badmintonnen.
    Nog veel contact met andere buitenlandse studenten ?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sjoerd

25 years of age, on an exchange programm to Japan for 4,5 months from late september 2016 until early february 2017.

Actief sinds 03 Sept. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 234
Totaal aantal bezoekers 82867

Voorgaande reizen:

24 September 2016 - 08 Februari 2017

Exchange Japan

Landen bezocht: